Europe: Annex VIII, the growing list of Member States ready to accept PCN through ECHA

Posted By: Trace One

Annex VIII: what does that entail?

EU-country-list_ENAccording to article 45 of CLP Regulation, importers and downstream users who place hazardous mixtures in the market should submit relevant information in the event of emergency health response to designated appointed bodies.

Annex VIII of CLP, added by 2017/542 Regulation, has the aim to harmonize, in terms of format and content, the information relating to emergency health responses in the EU market. The recently updated consolidated text of Annex VIII consists of Regulation 2020/1677.

However, not all Member States declared themselves ready to accept the notification through the ECHA portal at the time of the first compliance date (January 1st 2021). Nevertheless, the list of countries ready to proceed with Annex VIII notification continues to grow and it is kept updated by ECHA in the “Overview of Member States decisions in relation to implementation of Annex VIII to the CLP Regulation” document.

Which Member States are ready?

As of January 20th, 2021, the following Member States are ready to accept notifications via the ECHA portal:

  • Austria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Lithuania
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden

For the remaining Member States, duty holders must continue to notify their mixtures according to national systems until further notice. As a consequence, consultation with the relevant national Helpdesks is strongly recommended.

For more information about the Trace One’s solution for Annex VIII, please contact our Customer Service at


For more information, please use the following links:

Newsletter 140